The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson | Spoiler Free Review

mistborn-the-final-empire-e1410290218238

Book: The Final Empire

Author: Brandon Sanderson

Genre: Epic Fantasy;

Pages: 647

Format: paperback

Goodreads rating: 4.42

My rating: 5 stars out of 5

Sypnosis:

In a world where ash falls from the sky, and mist dominates the night, an evil cloaks the land and stifles all life. The future of the empire rests on the shoulders of a troublemaker and his young apprentice. Together, can they fill the world with colour once more?
In Brandon Sanderson’s intriguing tale of love, loss, despair and hope, a new kind of magic enters the stage— Allomancy, a magic of the metals.

My review:

“In the end, I worry that my arrogance shall destroy us all.”

This was my first epic fantasy book in a long time and it didn’t take me long to realize that this book was blowing my mind. Nothing was uninteresting and I just kept going as if this wasn’t a massive 600+ page book.

The world was so detailed and everything seemed so ‘unlike any other book’ to me. the depressing setting of the city was described in a way that made me able to imagine it clearly in my mind because of the writer’s objective but beautiful writing.

For everyone that reads my reviews you probably know that character development is one of the most important characteristics in a book to me. If I don’t care about the characters how can I care about the story they live? And this book surprised me do much on that aspect. I didn’t just love some characters or was just interested in the point of views of one or two, I liked every single one of them!

One thing I missed in the last books I’ve read is the lack of sticky notes (meaning: the lack of good quotes that I mark with a sticky note). If I wasn’t lazy enough to take a picture of my edition of the book you could see that it’s full of post it’s and that just shows how I loved the writing style.

I also want to talk about the smell. Yes, the smell. My edition had this wonderful paper smell that I can’t get enough of, I don’t understand what it is but it just completed the whole amazing experience that was reading The Final Empire.

Do I recommend it? Yes, it’s a book for everyone and it’s definitely an experience that I won’t forget.

P.S: I’m so excited for the next book to arrive in the mail!

Leave a Reply

