Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake | Book review

threedarkcrowns-three-dark-covers

Book: Three Dark Crowns

Author: Kendare Blake

Genre: Young adult, Fantasy;

Pages: 398

Format: paperback

Goodreads rating: 3.86

My rating: 4 stars out of 5

Sypnosis:

When kingdom come, there will be one.

In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born—three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose…it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins.

The last queen standing gets the crown.

My review:

“If you are looking for a queen,” she says, “you came too late.”

I have very mixed feelings about this book. The concept was original and unlike everything I’ve read, it took me back to reading fantasy after a period of only contemporary and it was entertaining as hell. But.

BUT.

I disliked some characters and their actions with all my being. They irritated and frustrated me and you know how I hate when I don’t get enjoyment while reading certain parts of a book. There was a huge part of it where I thought that there could be more character development and each princess could have more personality. That got better, I guess, towards the end but I still wish it had been written differently.

My main thought on this book is that it had an amazing concept that could have made this a five star rating if not for the way it was written. Maybe with a little more time and more story and character development things could have been different. But they were not.

I’m not saying it was a bad book, because I had a lot of enjoyment reading it but it was mix between bad and good stuff. It was fast paced, interesting and fun. The world was so magical and it had his own twisted traditions and authentic gifts between its people. But on the other hand, some characters made especially dumb and clueless decisions out of nowhere and love relationships happened so fast that they didn’t even make sense.

I hated a particular couple in which the boy acted impulsively and the girl excused him every time which is an example of something that frustrated a lot of people, including myself.

But overall I can’t help being excited for the next book in the series. The ending left me curious and the truth is that, besides all the flaws, this still ended up being a good fresh start to a fantasy series.

______________________________

I’m currently accepting books to review.

My youtube channel.

Leave a Reply

