“Burn for burn” Trilogy review (Spoiler Free)

burn-for-burn-series

Book: Burn for Burn, Fire with Fire, Ashes to ashes

Author: Jenny Han & Siobhan Vivian

Genre: Young adult, Contemporary, Supernatural, Romance;

Pages: 356; 517; 387

Format: Paperback

Goodreads rating: 3.88 / 4.16 / 3.72

My ratings: 4 stars / 5 stars / 3.5 stars

Online Store: Awesomebooks

Sypnosis:

Lillia, Kat, and Mary had the perfect plan. Work together in secret to take down the people who wronged them. But things didn’t exactly go the way they’d hope.

My review:

“I’m sick of waiting for karma. Karma can suck it.”

I was drawn to read Burn for burn, the first book, because I intended to get out of a reading slump and Jenny Han always can make me feel like a reader again but I didn’t ever expect to be so involved in this whole series  and read all the books in such a small period of time.

We meet Lillia, Kat and Mary, three girls that live on the same island but have completely different lifestyles.  Lillia is the rich, sweet, spoiled girl with a wide group of friends and known as one of the most popular girls at school. Kat is an outcast and rebel and Mary is the shy, new girl. They all come together by coincidence and decide to take vengeance on other people that betrayed their friendship.

The first book is fun and fast paced with an ending that just made me want to read the second book immediately. The second book is slower and I believe that if I wasn’t much invested in the story I probably would have thought it was boring but there’s a lot of romance and character development and I enjoyed that. What still leaves me a bit disappointed is the last book. One of the characters was extremely irritating and caused me some anxiety which is not the best feeling to have when you’re reading for pleasure. I also think that the ending was rushed and the faith of the characters didn’t made sense (or I just wanted it to happen my way).

If you’re looking for a nice, simple contemporary: stick with the first book and don’t continue. But if you want to feel grief, sadness, anger towards the characters and the writers, read the whole series. It messed with my head and it had a surprising twist at the end of the first book that introduced the supernatural into the series, which I had not expected to happen.

Yes, there are many things that I can’t agree or like on this trilogy but I still recommend it with all my heart.

Leave a Reply

