Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella | Book Review by Nomu

finding-audrey-sophie_kinsella-review-the-quiet-people

Book: Finding Audrey

Author: Sophie Kinsella

Genre: Young adult, Chick Lit, Contemporary, Mental Illness;

Pages: 286 (Instead, I listened to 6+ hours of the audiobook)

Format: Audiobook

Goodreads rating: 3.83

My rating: 3 stars out of 5

Sypnosis:

An anxiety disorder disrupts fourteen-year-old Audrey’s daily life. She has been making slow but steady progress with Dr. Sarah, but when Audrey meets Linus, her brother’s gaming teammate, she is energized. She connects with him. Audrey can talk through her fears with Linus in a way she’s never been able to do with anyone before. As their friendship deepens and her recovery gains momentum, a sweet romantic connection develops, one that helps not just Audrey but also her entire family.

My review:

“The trouble is, depression doesn’t come with handy symptoms like spots and a temperature, so you don’t realize it at first. You keep saying “I’m fine” to people when you’re not fine. You think you SHOULD be fine. You keep saying to yourself: “Why aren’t I fine?”

I’ve been listening to this on audiobook for the past 2 weeks because I’ve heard wonders about Sophie Kinsella and her humor and it has entertained me almost every day before I go to sleep but it didn’t live to my expectations.

Audrey, the main character, is supposed to be 14 years old but I kept imagining her as if she was only 12. I blame that partially on the simple pre-teen kind of writing style and the voice done by the narrator. Still, it was okay. I’m not super excited about it though, as you can probably tell.

But wait, I didn’t say the things above in a negative manner. I guess it was just an average book for me. Still, I have a couple of things I enjoyed and a couple that didn’t please me. Let’s start with the former:

It was a fast paced audiobook that I finished mostly today, the narrators voices were different and combined nicely with each character, it didn’t ocupy much of my thoughts and it does in some parts of the book explain very well the struggle of living with anxiety and depression and how it can affect your life daily.

To be honest, at those times, it seemed almost a completely different book, more mature and interesting.

Still, I also have some negative critics in mind; I thought the language could be a little bit more worked on and the same for the storyline; I seriously think that Audrey’s mom was mental and completely intrusive in her kids privacy and that her ‘redemption’ at the end of the book was idiotic;

I suppose I’m 50/50, so I can’t give this book more than three stars.

But there’s one thing I disagree from various reviews I’ve seen so far. I don’t think “this boy she meets” was her savior. I’ve heard some people say they are tired of hearing about the “boy saves girl from depression” kind of thing. I feel that he was more of a push, because there’s nothing wrong with getting help while dealing with a sickness and for me, Audrey did most of the work. “That boy” was just influenting her and being her friend and a completely new person that was the first to enter the bubble that she lived in. I think it would have worked the same if he was a girl or just not a romantic interest.

With all said, I would like to point a few aspects about this book: It’s cute, it’s simple, It can be relatable and it’s worth it. My only downgrade is that I wish I would have read it a few years back.

And now, it’s time to say goodbye and as always, stay curious.

Also check out:

Leave a Reply

