December books and January to be Read

New year, new books, new life.

I’m beyond excited for 2017 like I was never ever before with a new year. I have a ton of plans and projects for both my life and social media that I’ll be sharing with you throughout the next months.

But first, I’m here to wrap up what I read in the last month of 2016 and to share what I plan on reading and finish reading this month.

In December I read:

  • 2 books
  • 1 young adult contemporary
  • 1 mystery thriller
  • 1 DNF book
  • 506 pages overall

As you can see it was a very bad month in terms of reading for me. I was overwhelmed with the holidays and my interests were not focused on reading most of the time. I also started december with a book that I had to put down at the beginning of the month which led to a reading slump for the rest of 2016.

WceGgDUNlCA8RPHOz66AbHHs4RI12Vqg+OoBRGBrKx2plCphEkAr3aizNSRpuGHkIoDZcS4gLRs3LNNbucM2tzHjr1b6gOv!JK2gG4iMspVQ5iDKyCBWtzAWMsmQ+7PK.png

1 – I started by reading Second life by S.J. Watson, the new psychological thriller from the bestselling author of Before I Go To Sleep and I ended up DNF’ing it by page 150.

I wasn’t able to make a full review on this given the fact that I didn’t finish it but I can name a few aspects that made me give up on this book: The main character makes terrible decisions although her thoughts show us that she knows they are bad, she just chooses to ignore them; I don’t care about any of the characters; The story takes 100+ pages to start; This book was 50% me being bored and other 50% being irritated;

So, this is definitely one of those books that I’ll never finish. If you’re still interested, you can read more about it here.

My rating: 2 out of 5 stars

13406425.jpg

2 – Burn for burn by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian. I always pick up a Jenny Han book when I’m in a really sticky reading slump and it always saves me from it.

Burn for burn is about three teenages that live on the same island but have completely different lifestyles. In the outcome of some bad events, they come together to plan on ruining the lives of the people that hurt them. This was so fun, adventurous and exciting and it has good character development which is always a plus. I immediately ordered the other two books in this trilogy after I finished this and I’m super excited for them to come in the mail.

You can read more about the book here.

My rating: 4 out of 5 stars

And now, my tbr for January:

23305614

1 – Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella. I’ve been reading this as an audiobook and it’s okay. The narrators are great, they have different voices for every character which is cool and I can understand and relate to the topic about anxiety and depression but I still feel that this book is probably for younger readers than me. Still, I’m enjoying reading a few minutes every night before I fall asleep.

You can read more about the book here.

 

7327327.jpg

2- The Search for Wondla by  Tony DiTerlizzi; It’s a Middle grade fantasy book about Eva Nine, who is a curious and sensitive twelve-year-old that has existed only in a subterranean home called Sanctuary. She wants to go aboveground, and her wish comes true, though not as she had imagined. On the surface, she meets both friend and foe.

I started this in December and I don’t know why but if feels so good to read a book with pictures. The art work is so cute and the characters are so original.

You can read more about the book here.

That’s basically my tbr for January; I want to read more than just these two books but I still don’t know what I feel like reading next. We’ll see!

And now, it’s time to say goodbye and as always, stay curious.

Check out:

 

Leave a Reply

