November books & December to be read

I usually do this as a video and post it on my channel but this month I decided to post my wrap up here because the month it’s already half through. I read three books in November and I only have two books that I’m certain I want to read in december, although I hope to read many more than that. Let’s get started!

3.jpg

A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray was the first book I finished in November and it went pretty well because I gave this book 4 stars.

Synopsis | Gemma is sixteen and has lived all her life in India, until the day she foresees her mother’s death in a vision that turns out to be true. She is sent back to England and enrolled in a girls’ academy, meeting powerful Felicity, beautiful Pippa, and even her own dumpy roommate Ann. Gemma has been followed from India by Kartik, a beautiful young man who warns her to fight off the visions. Nevertheless, they continue, and one night she is led by a child-spirit to find a diary that reveals the secrets of a mystical Order. She is overwhelmed with power she would never have as a Victorian wife, but she soon discovers that the power also brings bad and it’s hard to control. 

I must admit, this book is probably too slow for most people and I also had a hard time not being bored when the protagonist went to this new magical world we are presented. Still, I probably felt very good that week in a way that I didn’t mind the fact that it was slow and I appreciated the character development and the time these girls spent at school. It’s a good book and I plan to continue the series very soon or I’ll end up forgetting the important details like it has happened many many times before.

2.jpg

Bridget Jone’s Diary by Helen Fielding | I’m sure many of you already know who Bridget is and in my opinion the movies are good (this last one was a bit ehh.) but I just can’t get to the end of the first book. I don’t get most of the jokes, I’m tired of reading about her lists and her weight and it ends up not following the purpose of the reason why I bought it: I wanted a quick, relaxing and fun contemporary. Not this.

Synopsis | Meet Bridget Jones—a 30-something Singleton who is certain she would have all the answers if she could:
a. lose 7 pounds
b. stop smoking
c. develop Inner Poise

That’s it and her trying to find a man throughout the book. I know it passes a nice message in the end where men and weight aren’t everything but still, I don’t feel like reading almost an entire book to get to a conclusion I already know.

Not trying to offend anyone, if you like the book: good. I don’t, but strangely I enjoyed the movies. ┌( ಠ_ಠ)┘

1.jpg

The Widow by Fiona Barton or ONE OF MY FAVES OF 2016! A 5 star crime story that I recommend to all my readers. It feels a bit like The Girl on the train; not that the story is similar but the writing is, or maybe not but you know what I mean, right? The case here is: I loved it. If you like to know the truth or imagine it bit by bit while turning each page, this is for you. But. If you feel very impatient to get to the end and curious to KNOW and don’t really feel like reading a bunch of pages that seem worthless (but are not, trust me.), I guess, you probably shouldn’t read this. It will only get you anxiety levels to the maximum. What I mean to say, is: GO FOR IT!

Synopsis | We’ve all seen him: the man – the monster – staring from the front page of every newspaper, accused of a terrible crime. But what about her: the woman who grips his arm on the courtroom stairs – the wife who stands by him? Jean Taylor’s life was blissfully ordinary. Nice house, nice husband. Glen was all she’d ever wanted: her Prince Charming. Until he became that man accused, that monster on the front page. Jean was married to a man everyone thought capable of unimaginable evil. But now Glen is dead and she’s alone for the first time, free to tell her story on her own terms. Jean Taylor is going to tell us what she knows.

4.jpg

And now for my December tbr…but WAIT. Just take a moment to look at that artsy picture that I took just to look cute in here. Such colors! Anyway, this month I plan to finish reading Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen and Second Life by S.J. Watson.

I’m sure most of you know the most famous Jane Austen classic but for some bookish beginner that doesn’t, it’s basically a tale of love, marriage and society in Georgian England. (I’m totally not copying this) It follows the feisty, quick-witted Elizabeth Bennet as her parents seek to ensure good marriages for her and her sisters in order to secure their future. We also get to know the famous Mr. Darcy and you’ll have to read to really know how his personality is.

The problem I have in finishing this book is that I’ve watched a couple of movies about it. I know how it ends and I know most of the important moments. This troubles me because I have a history of not finishing books to which I’ve already seen the movies (Ex: harry potter, don’t judge me.) Still, I’ll try my best!

Next book on the list, and I just started it two days ago is Second Life by S.J. Watson. A psychological thriller that I’m not even 100 pages in but I am enjoying it. I’ll leave you the synopsis, although to be honest it doesn’t say much and I’m also still very early into the book to give you more info.

Synopsis | She loves her husband. She’s obsessed by a stranger. She’s a devoted mother. She’s prepared to lose everything. She knows what she’s doing. She’s out of control.She’s innocent. She’s guilty as sin. She’s living two lives. She might lose both

And now, it’s time to say goodbye and as always, stay curious.

Previous post: December Releases | Books & Movies 🎥

Recommended: November Adventures 🎥✨

Leave a Reply

